CDOT, The Colorado State Patrol, and local law enforcement ramp up 'Click It or Ticket' enforcement.

Through March 31st, Colorado State Patrol and CDOT will have enhanced 'Click-It or Ticket' patrols, especially in rural parts of the state. A recent Colorado Department of Transportation study reports five of the six counties with the lowest percentage of seat belt use are rural counties.

Colorado’s rural seat belt use rates are one of the lowest in the country. At 86%, that's well below the 90% national average. In 2018, 215 unbuckled drivers and passengers were killed in crashes in Colorado. That number accounts for more than half of the 410 total passenger vehicle deaths last year. In the previous year, its estimated an additional 70 lives could have been saved had everyone in Colorado had their seat belt buckled.

Think that this enforcement effort is no big deal? Thank again. Last March Colorado's 'Click It or Ticket' program, there are three annually, nabbed 1,279 without their seat belts buckled and were issued citiations.

If you're caught not wearing your seat belt, it will cost you. Fines in Colorado start at $65, and parents or caregivers caught with an improperly restrained child in the car will receive a minimum fine of $82.

Credit: The Durango Herald