Refusing A DUI Test Has Consequences
Getting stopped for suspicion of driving under the influence is a scary thing. If you’ve had a few too many, it can be very costly. Not corporating with the arresting officer will cost you even more.
The average cost of a DUI in Colorado is just over $13,000. According to the DMV, more Colorado drivers arrested for DUI are choosing to refuse the breathalyzer test. That decision comes with some serious consequences.
Of the more than 22,000 impaired driving cases last year, there were over 6,000 refusals. That’s a quarter of all arrests. So what happens if you say “no” to the test? Several things and none of them good.
1) You’ll automatically lose your driver’s license. 2) You’ll get an ignition interlock installed on your car for 24 months. 3) You’ll be enrolled in 100-hour alcohol and drug education program.
If you refuse the test and have a prior, you’ll be out, even more money in penalties and fines. For more information go to www.NoDUIColorado.org. The website has more details on what happens when you refuse. The Colorado DMV wants people to fully understand what happens when you say “no.” According to the state’s numbers, it’s apparent more people need to understand what’s really at stake.
Of course, all of this can be prevented by not drinking and driving. Always use a designated driver and be safe. Nothing else does more to help prevent an arrest in the first place.