2013 was a big year for Monster Magnet, with the release of their critically acclaimed album 'Last Patrol' and first North American tour in a decade. That momentum is carrying into 2014 with the release of the new album 'Milking the Stars' on Nov. 18 via Napalm Records.

'Milking the Stars' (track listing below) is described as a 're-imagined' version of 'Last Patrol' with four new songs and live tracks. The band has released the song 'No Paradise For Me' that you can check out in the player below. Frontman Dave Wyndorf calls the song 'interesting, f--ked up and old school sounding.'

Wyndorf gives more details on 'Milking the Stars:' "This was a happy experiment for me. It's not a re-mix record by the current definition. It's more like 'Last Patrol' in a "what if?" style alternate reality."

"What if these songs were recorded in 1968?" Wyndorf asks. "What would happen if I turned a pretty song into an angry one?" How would adding creepy organs and Mellotrons affect the emotional vibe of a song?" These are just a few of the questions that roll around in my head when I write and record any album but this time I decided to actually answer them with fully fleshed out, recorded and mixed examples."

Wyndorf continues, "The process actually created new songs. That's the icing on the cake for me. New sounds, new vocals, different instruments and arrangements make for a weird 1960's vibe totally apart from Last Patrol which was fun for Phil, Bob, Garrett, mixer Joe Barresi and myself to explore."

"Finally there's expanded versions of the songs "Last Patrol" and "Three Kingfishers" as recorded live at the AB club in Belgium, 2014. Both those songs were re-arranged for "maximum rock and psych" before we hit the road last year and feature the debut performance of new Magnet bassist, Chris Kosnik. Personally, I think they beat the original versions. Rock on!"

Monster Magnet, 'Milking the Stars' Track Listing:

1. 'Let the Circus Burn'
2. 'Mindless Ones '68'
3. 'No Paradise For Me'
4. 'End of Time (B-3)'
5. 'Milking the Stars'
6. 'Hellelujah (Fuzz And Swamp)'
7. 'I Live Behind The Clouds (Roughed Up And Slightly Spaced)'
8. 'Goliath Returns'
9. 'Stay Tuned' (Even Sadder)
10. 'The Duke' (Full On Drums 'N Wah)
11. 'Last Patrol' (Live)
12. 'Three Kingfishers' (Live)


More From 95 Rock