Colorado Cell Phone Laws May Soon Change
Colorado may soon be a hands-free only state.
I think everyone is in agreement that it's not good to text and drive and it's illegal nearly everywhere. California, Connecticut, Delaware, Hawaii, Illinois, Maryland, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Oregon, Vermont, Washington, West Virginia, and Washington D.C prohibit drivers from using hand-held phones while driving. The same may soon be so in Colorado.
A bill was introduced in the state legislature last week would prohibit all drivers of all ages from talking on the phone without a hands-free device. Colorado currently prohibits any driver under the age of 18 from driving and talking on the phone.
The fine for violating the law would increase too. The fine for drivers under 18 would go from $50 to $300.
AAA released the results of a recent study. It says that drivers who are texting or online are 2-8 times more likely to be involved in a crash. Persons talking on the phone are 4 times more likely to get in a crash regardless if they're using a hands-free or handheld device or not.
If the law passes, it would go into effect July of this year. Check out the bill by clicking HERE. What are your thoughts? Do we need a "hands-free" law? I'm not sure if I even own a Bluetooth.