Coming up this summer, you might want to be out in the woods somewhere, not on the ocean, for this years Super Moon. The Super Moon will be taking place on Saturday June 23, 2013 the moon will be larger and closer than any other time in 2013.

This years closest and largest moon (Super Moon) will occur on June 23, 2013 at 11:32 Universal Time. For the United States that is 7:32 a.m. EDT, 6:32 a.m. CDT, 5:32 MDT and 4:32 PDT.

Astronomers call this encounter a perigee, which means the moon the moons closest point to the earth for the month. Super Moon is a new term that came about 3 years ago. Super Moon means:

...a new or full moon which occurs with the moon at or near (within 90% of) its closest approach to Earth in a given orbit (perigee). In short, Earth, moon and sun are all in a line, with moon in its nearest approach to Earth.

When the moon reaches perigee it will only be 356,991 kilometers (221,824 miles) away. Coming up in two weeks on July 9, the moon will swing out to apogee - its farthest point for the month and year - at 406,490 kilometers (252,581 miles) distant.