In Colorado, Texting And Driving Will Cost You More
The cost of getting caught texting and driving in the state of Colorado just went up. On June 1st Governor John Hickenlooper signed a bill increasing fines and penalties for the offense.
I've talked about this before. It's a bad habit. I'm guilty of the offense and I'm sure you've been guilty of it too. We all know the dangers so why do we continue to text and drive? Well, lawmakers and law enforcement are raising the stakes trying to make sure we get the message (no pun intended).
Automobile fatalities are on the rise. In 2014 the number jumped by10 percent. Since then it's risen as much as 20 percent annually.
Law enforcement is cracking down on texting and distracted driving. The fine is now $300! That's up from the previous $100 fine and jail time could be part of the equation if someone is injured or killed in an accident.
Colorado State Patrol officials are hopeful the new regulations will finally get drivers to put down their phones while behind the wheel. Officers aren't handing out warnings either. You get caught texting and drivnig, you will get a ticket. End of story. The new fines took effect on June 1st. Don't risk it. The message can wait.