Shinedown had promised they'd release a new album in 2018 and now the details are all in place with Attention Attention set for a May 4 release on Atlantic Records. The band's sixth studio album packs 14 new tracks spanning one concept and for a glimpse at what's in store, check out the music video for "Devil" above.

It's one of the more jarring songs in the Shinedown catalog, centered around a sliding guitar lick and off kilter beat. There's a wall of sound present on "Devil," with backing choirs padding the atmosphere as the track builds up with dense layers of synth, piano and guitar textures that bring everything to a climax before a few moments of near silence to close it out.

"At the beginning of the record, you can feel this intensity and these bold statements that are being made. But as the record progresses, you hear the individual and the record start to shift, and they start to get their confidence back, and they start to understand what's going on, because they're having to face emotions that they've never really faced before," singer Brent Smith said to Billboard when discussing Attention Attention. "We call it digging in the dirt mentally. This person has to flush it out. In order to be able to get out of this room and out of this chair and go back into the world, they have to train themselves mentally. They have to accept the fact that it's not always going to be great. It's not always going to be exactly the way you want it."

Place your pre-order for Attention Attention at this location and receive "Devil" as an instant gratification download. The song is sure to get some attention onstage this year with Shinedown heading out on the road supporting Five Finger Death Punch starting April 20 (dates here). They'll venture back out later in the year on a co-headlining run with Godsmack as well and that tour kicks off on July 22 with all stops found here.

Shinedown, Attention Attention Artwork + Track Listing


1. The Entrance
2. Devil
3. Black Soul
4. Attention Attention
5. Kill Your Conscience
6. Pyro
7. Monsters
8. Darkside
9. Creatures
10. Evolve
11. Get Up
12. Special
13. The Human Radio
14. Brilliant

Shinedown Albums Ranked

More From 95 Rock