Contact Us

Soundgarden Reveal ‘Ultramega OK’ Expanded Reissue Details, Unleash Early Version of ‘Beyond the Wheel’

Soundgarden / Sub Pop
Soundgarden / Sub Pop

Soundgarden are about to make good on a “correction” they’ve long sought. The band will deliver a newly remixed and expanded reissue of their Grammy-nominated full-length debut disc, Ultramega OK.

The band initially recorded the album for SST Records, but were never really quite happy with the final mix of the disc and had intended to remix the album for subsequent pressings, but after singing a deal with A&M and starting work on Louder Than Love, they never got around to that planned remix. Now, just shy of 30 years later, the band will reissue Ultramega OK with a fresh remix.

In 2016, the band finally acquired the original multi-track tapes from the Ultramega OK sessions and found time to dig into the project. They asked longtime friend, engineer Jack Endino, to join them in creating a fresh mix.

And while they were at it, the band dug out six early version of tracks that wound up on the album. Those songs were recorded in 1987 on an 8-track tape by Endino and Chris Hanzsek and then mixed anew by Endino in 2016. One of those songs, the dark and driving “Beyond the Wheel,” can be heard in the player above.

The new CD reissue comes packaged in a foil-stamped gatefold with a custom dust sleeve, featuring liner notes from Kim Thayil and Jack Endino, as well as a previously unseen photo from photographer Charles Peterson. Look for the disc arriving on or around March 10. You can pre-order the disc via Soundgarden or Sub Pop, and check out the full track listing below.

Soundgarden, Ultramega OK Reissue Track Listing:

1. Flower
2. All Your Lies
3. 665
4. Beyond the Wheel
5. 667
6. Mood for Trouble
7. Circle of Power
8. He Didn’t
9. Smokestack Lightning
10. Nazi Driver
11. Head Injury
12. Incessant Mace
13. One Minute of Silence
14. Head Injury (early version)
15. Beyond the Wheel (early version)
16. Incessant Mace (early version)
17. He Didn’t (early version)
18. All Your Lies (early version)
19. Incessant Mace (V2) (early version)

Soundgarden Albums Ranked

10 Best Soundgarden Songs

Soundgarden to Lead 2017 Rocklahoma Festival

Best of 95 Rock

Recommended for You

Best of the Web

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for WFS Club quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!

Sign up to have exclusive WFS Club contests, events, coupons, presales, and much more delivered to you for FREE.