Fifth time is a charm for the Denver Outlaws.

In just their fifth ever appearance (in nine seasons) in the Major League Lacrosse championship game, the Outlaws won the title Saturday night by defeating the Rochester Rattlers 12-11 at Fifth Third Bank Stadium in Kennesaw, Georgia.

Drew Snider scored off a feed from Justin Pennington in the final minute of the game, while John Grant Jr. had four points on a hat trick and an assist to lead the Outlaws to their first Steinfeld Cup trophy.

The Denver Outlaws are the only Major League Lacrosse franchise to make the playoffs in each year of its existence, including the five appearances in the championship game. The five championship appearances included a loss to Rochester in 2008 when Outlaws coach B.J. O'Hara was coaching the Rattlers.